Covid Travel certificate in European Union

Greece and six other European Union member states on Tuesday introduced a vaccination certificate system, ahead of the rollout of the program across the bloc on July 1. The other countries are Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Croatia, and Poland, according to the European Commission.
All you want to know about EU’s vaccination certificate.

  1. Countries where digital certificate is live
    European Union’s (EU) new Digital Covid Certificate went live in Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia and Poland. A Covid certificate would be handed out for free by health authorities in EU countries to people who received a vaccine, had a negative test or are immune, having recovered from Covid.
  2. Purpose of the certificate
    The certificate was proposed by the European Commission to enable people to resume safe free travel this summer. The system allows the verification of certificates in a secure and privacy-friendly way. Available in digital format or on paper, it will provide proof that its holder has been vaccinated against Covid-19, tested negative or recovered from an infection. The European Commission proposes calling it the Digital Green Certificate. It is not a vaccine passport, officials say.
  3. When will the scheme start
    The gateway for the certificate had already been tested successfully in 22 countries. The regulation comes into force on July 1 with a phasing-in period of six weeks for the issuance of certificates for those member states that need additional time. However, those member states that have passed the technical tests and are ready to issue and verify certificates can already start using the system on a voluntary basis.
  4. What about non-EU countries:
    EU countries can link their national vaccine records to a central system using a template provided by German developers. Linking up non-EU countries to the system is technically possible if a political agreement is sealed this month and an equivalence decision granted by the EU to share data.

Back to top button